8
\$\begingroup\$

If I kill some kind of evil creature like a zombie, chuck it into a shallow grave and burn its remains, would casting detect evil and good on the skeletal remains reveal anything?

Or do destroyed/slain monsters immediately stop registering for such effects?

The spell does not specify if the creature needs to be alive, dead, or whole. However, it may cease to be considered a creature if it is dead; I do not know.

The detect evil and good spell description reads:

For the duration, you know if there is an aberration, celestial, elemental, fey, fiend, or undead within 30 feet of you, as well as where the creature is located. Similarly, you know if there is a place or object within 30 feet of you that has been magically consecrated or desecrated.

Additionally, would you know that it was undead? Or just that it is one of those types of monster?

Also, does it remain 'undead'? Once undead, always undead?

I assume this spell only reveals if the monster is one of the types in the list (not which one?), and not alignment like I think perhaps past editions of D&D have done.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Related on Is a dead creature's body considered an object? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jan 21 '20 at 14:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good find, if resurrect says touch a dead creature then I guess it remains a creature. I reckon it would work then. I assume the remains are considered to be the creature. If you took say a fingerbone with you, would it always register as evil? Once resurrected as undead, always undead? Perhaps. \$\endgroup\$ – NibblyPig Jan 21 '20 at 14:40
7
\$\begingroup\$

If I kill some kind of evil creature like a zombie, chuck it into a shallow grave and burn its remains, would casting detect evil on the skeletal remains reveal anything?

As Jeremy Crawford states on twitter

A corpse is an object. An unconscious creature is a creature.

So, the zombie should only be revealed by Detect Evil and Good if it is presently "alive."

Additionally, would you know that it was undead? Or just that it is one of those types of monster?

The spell makes fails to mention being able to discern between different creatures, so I would say it's very unlikely that you are able to tell what type of creature it is.

I assume this spell only reveals if the monster is one of the types in the list (not which one?), and not alignment like I think perhaps past editions of D&D have done.

Again, the spell doesn't mention that you can discern whether the creature is good or evil, or what type of creature it is, only that you know the creature's location.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ FYI, Jeremy Crawford's tweets are no longer official rulings. They provide some context as to how he'd rule on something at the time he wrote the tweet, it's not an indication of anything official anymore. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jan 21 '20 at 16:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 22 '20 at 7:45
2
\$\begingroup\$

As a preface, I'm a huge advocate of DM freedom when making a ruling. My initial answer is mold the rules to what your campaign requires. However, from purely a logistical standpoint, I submit the following:

The spell is available to clerics and paladins. This means there is a higher chance of divine intervention when a spell like this is cast. For example, if a dwarven cleric casts this spell on the ashes of a monster that attacked a dwarven citadel, Moradin (the main dwarven deity) will more than likely assist the caster in knowing not only that the monster was evil (or good), but identifying what creature the ashes are from. Please note: this conclusion is not from the actual rule book, just my experience as a DM.

Here is a site that details the spell from 3.5e.

https://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/detectEvil.htm

In 3.5e, the spell gives more detail the more evil (or good) the target of the spell was. Even though rules from 3.5e don't transfer over to 5e, in this case, they give a good idea of what kind of ruling to make when the details of the rules in 5e aren't specific enough.

With a spell like this, the DM is giving the player the information. The nice part about this is that you have a high degree of freedom to rule in a way that will move the story along in a way that you see fit. When it comes to identifying what kind of creature it was, I would give it to the player if they roll high enough. I don't see a rule that says otherwise, so this is up to DM discretion.

Again, I advocate hugely for DM freedom in ruling. If you are looking for a more rules-based view, Robert Pain VanZant gave a pretty great answer.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.