5
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the Blackstaff magic item in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure (p. 190) states:

When the Blackstaff dies, the spirit of that individual becomes trapped in the staff along with the spirits of the previous Blackstaffs.

If a lich is worthy enough to attune to the staff, then when it dies, does the Blackstaff have precedent over the lich's phylactery?

\$\endgroup\$
2
6
\$\begingroup\$

Probably not

We have a very similar question about a ring of mind shielding, and the same reasoning applies here. Liches do not die when their bodies are destroyed, so the blackstaff does not trigger. Also, a lich's soul is already stored in the phylactery (and not in its body), so stuff that tries to take a lich's soul from its body is unlikely to work.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .