5
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the Blackstaff magic item in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure (p. 190) states:

When the Blackstaff dies, the spirit of that individual becomes trapped in the staff along with the spirits of the previous Blackstaffs.

If a lich is worthy enough to attune to the staff, then when it dies, does the Blackstaff have precedent over the lich's phylactery?

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Probably not

We have a very similar question about a ring of mind shielding, and the same reasoning applies here. Liches do not die when their bodies are destroyed, so the blackstaff does not trigger. Also, a lich's soul is already stored in the phylactery (and not in its body), so stuff that tries to take a lich's soul from its body is unlikely to work.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.