7
\$\begingroup\$

An Arcane Archer fighter hits a creature with a Banishing Arrow, and they vanish into the Feywild.

A man in the middle places dimensional shackles on the target (in the Feywild) for 10 minutes.

What happens when the shackles are taken off?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

I would say that if interpreting the banishing arrow as a means of movement between the planes (in this case both forward and back), the Dimensional Shackles would prevent the secondary trip back to the plane of origin.

In addition to serving as mundane manacles, the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional movement, including teleportation or travel to a different plane of existence.

Even though the shackles specifically state that:

They don't prevent the creature from passing through an interdimensional portal.

Interpreting the banishing arrow to be considered an interdimensional portal would be an even bigger stretch than it being considered a type of movement between the planes.

However, the banishing arrow specifically also states that:

You use abjuration magic to try to temporarily banish your target to a harmless location in the Feywild.

So whether or not a location where some other creature puts on the shackles would be considered to be a "harmless" location is also something to consider.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A portal is usually explicitly described as such, so your answer is pretty on-point. \$\endgroup\$ – Tsugihagi Jan 27 at 12:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think something worth considering is whether a creature is actually "using" Banishing Arrow when getting teleported. It's unclear to me whether Dimensional Shackles prevent forced planar movement. \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jan 27 at 14:07
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 suppose it's up for grabs on how the semantics can be interpreted. e.g. If someone pushes me off a cliff, am I using the fall as a method of travel to reach the rocks below? \$\endgroup\$ – Ceiling Gecko Jan 27 at 14:36
7
\$\begingroup\$

The creature remains in the Feywild

According to Dimensional Shackles:

the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional Movement

The only "return clause" in Banishing Arrow says

At the end of its next turn, the target reappears in the space it vacated

If its turn passes and its unable to fulfill Banishing Arrow's effect, nothing else is in place to remove it from the Feywild.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think something worth considering is whether a creature is actually "using" Banishing Arrow when getting teleported. It's unclear to me whether Dimensional Shackles prevent forced planar movement. \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jan 27 at 14:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It doesn't specify forced or willing, so I assumed neutrality. "Prevented from using any method" could be taken either way, I suppose. \$\endgroup\$ – Tsugihagi Jan 27 at 14:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.