22
\$\begingroup\$

The Eldritch Knight fighter's War Magic feature (PHB, pg. 75) states:

Beginning at 7th level, when you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action.

(The 18th-level Improved War Magic feature works the same way, but allows any spell as your action rather than being limited to cantrips.)

The description of Counterspell states:

You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting a spell. If the creature is casting a spell of 3rd level or lower, its spell fails and has no effect. If it is casting a spell of 4th level or higher, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell's level. On a success, the creature's spell fails and has no effect.

For example, say my Eldritch Knight attempts to cast booming blade. If someone casts counterspell on my booming blade, am I still able to make the bonus-action weapon attack?

\$\endgroup\$
31
\$\begingroup\$

Since you used the action, you still make the attack

The ability specifically says that when you use your action to cast the spell, you get to use the BA attack. Counter spell is cast in reaction to a spell being cast and causes it to have no effect. Since counterspell doesn't cause the casting to fail, simply the spell being cast, you still used your action to cast a spell. As such, according to the ability, you'd still get your attack

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ In other words - what gets you the BA Attack isn't casting the spell, but "paying" the action to do so. \$\endgroup\$ – T. Sar Jan 29 at 1:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ yes, thats exactly what I'm saying/ Since it says it activates upon using the action to cast a spell, what triggers it is simply using the action in that way \$\endgroup\$ – Smart_TJ Jan 29 at 1:13
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I do believe this logic is correct, though I am curious whether this matches the designer intent... TheVagrantDog's answer to the question "Does a counterspelled spell still trigger the Mage Slayer feat's reaction attack?" agrees with your logic, saying, "you aren't preventing the spell from occurring with counterspell- you are preventing it from succeeding." \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 29 at 7:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.