16
\$\begingroup\$

The Warlock Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" from Xanathar's Guide allows the warlock to summon a ranged weapon:

Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.

Does this include the associated ammunition (arrows or bolts)? Or will the warlock have to carry ammo to use when he summons his bow/crossbow?

\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

Since it does not say that it includes ammunition, it doesn't include ammunition. If an ability says that a special item does not require ammunition, it says so, such as with the Artificer Infusion "Repeating Shot" which includes the line

If you load no ammunition in the weapon, it produces its own...

Since the eldritch invocation does not include a similar line, it could seem that no, if you summon a weapon that requires ammunition, the invocation does not provide it

This is further supported by a Jeremy Crawford tweet where upon being asked this same question, he responds

No ranged weapon automatically generates its own ammunition unless its description or a special ability says otherwise.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is the answer I expected, but wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – Pugmonkey Jan 28 at 20:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.