-1
\$\begingroup\$

Does an Ensnaring Strike restrain an Ochre Jelly in 5e?

I'm also assuming the answer would apply to any other ooze. Is that right?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Why wouldn't it? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2020 at 9:46

2 Answers 2

14
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it will be restrained

Ensnaring strike (PHB, p. 237) has the following text:

The next time you hit a creature with a weapon attack [...] the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the magical vines until the spell ends. A Large or larger creature has advantage on this saving throw.

Since the Ochre Jelly doesn't have immunity to the restrained condition, if it failed the save, it would be restrained. I imagine the confusion comes from the Amorphous feature:

The jelly can move through a space as narrow as 1 inch wide without squeezing.

However, this only applies to the jelly while it is able to move, and since the restrained condition sets a creature's speed to 0, this would not help the ooze escape the vines.

As none of the other oozes in the Monster Manual have immunity to being restrained, this would apply to each of them as well. Note that the Slithering Tracker from Volo's Guide to Monsters (p. 191) is immune to the restrained condition, so the spell would have no effect on it.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi legodude5000, I've made a small edit to your answer, just to turn the bolt text into a "proper header" (see this meta) and just to expand out the "Yes" to be a bit more verbose (sometimes, although not necessarily in this case, a question's title and the last thing asked in the question body can have opposite answers, so saying more than "Yes" or "No" helps to resolve any ambiguity; see this meta for more on that). Besides that, though, this is a good answer; +1 \$\endgroup\$
    – NathanS
    Commented Jan 29, 2020 at 10:01
3
\$\begingroup\$

Rules as written, an Ochre Jelly will be restrained

the answer would apply to any other ooze. Is that right?

Not exactly. Each monster stats block in 5e has its own condition immunities.

Ensnaring strike applies restrained condition:

the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the magical vines until the spell ends

An Ochre Jelly isn't immune to this condition:

Condition Immunities: Blinded, Charmed, Deafened, Exhaustion, Frightened, Prone

It may also be helpful to use the filters on D&D Beyond's to find which creatures with the ooze type are immune to the restrained condition. It turns out that the Slithering Tracker (VGtM, p. 191) is the only ooze so far that is immune to the restrained condition (thanks @V2Blast for this catch).

\$\endgroup\$
1

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .