5
\$\begingroup\$

I need some clarification about this as I've had contradicting answers to this question, which has left me confused.

I am a cleric with the Shield Master feat. I want to wear my shield in battle to benefit from the +2 AC. I want to use my feat in the same turn as casting a spell, but I'm not sure I can.

The Shield Master feat (PHB, p. 170) says, in part:

You use shields not just for protection but also for offense. You gain the following benefits while you are wielding a shield:

  • If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield.

If I'm proficient with shields and have the Shield Master feat, would I be able to shove a creature with my shield after carrying out a spell attack?

For example, I would cast a cantrip with my action, use my bonus action to shove the creature which is 5 feet from me, and then use my movement to get away without triggering an attack of opportunity.

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Not unles you use Action Surge.

The first feature of the Shield Master feat says

If you take the Attack action [...]

However, according to Actions in Combat on page 192 of the PHB, the Attack action is completely separate from the Cast a Spell action. So in your example when casting a cantrip you used the Cast a Spell action, and therefore do not qualify for the bonus action shove. Even if you were to cast booming blade or green-flame blade from SCAG, you would still technically be taking the Cast a Spell action.

So, to summarize: You can never cast a spell with your action and shove with your bonus action in the same turn, but if you take the Attack action you may shove as per usual.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you, this seems helpful but can you explain further. How does an "Attack" action not relate to a spell-attack, such as Guiding Bolt for instance? Or, when it comes to combat, Attack with capital A means only melee/ranged weapons attacks, whereas a spell doesn't? Please extend your answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Senmurv Jan 30 at 11:18
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @ETgothome Your more general questions about what the differences between actions are would be better suited to a new question rather than expanding on this answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Jan 30 at 11:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Marq Is there already one that has been answered - otherwise it is a waste of a question. I will have a look. :) \$\endgroup\$ – Senmurv Jan 30 at 11:25
  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ @ETgothome: What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 30 at 11:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've edited out the answer to the secondary question, since it's been edited out of this question and asked separately now: With only one free hand, can I still cast spells with somatic components? You may wish to leave your answer to that question there. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 31 at 11:00
0
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, by using action surge

The other answer is correct that you cannot use the option to shove as a bonus action after casting a spell. However, if you are a fighter (or multiclass at least 2 levels in it) then you can first cast a spell, then use action surge to take the Attack action, and then use your bonus action to shove an enemy with your shield.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.