I have a doubt about this. I have had various answers and they contradict each other so I would like some clarity on this.
I am a Cleric, I have a shield (which is also my focus), I want to wear my shield in battle to benefit from the +2 AC and I want to be able to cast spells. I'm not holding anything in my free hand.
Is a Cleric who is a) proficient in Shields and b) trying to cast a spell with a somatic component able to do so, if they only have one hand free?
That is, without having to doff the shield and suffering an AC penalty. I seem to remember there being a rule about needing to have at least one hand free to cast spells?
Thanks for your help with this.