4
\$\begingroup\$

Here is the background. So, I am playing in a campaign where I have a homebrew spell with allows me a Zombie-like companion (basically a Zombie with additional HPs).

If I cast the spell every 8 hours for 8 days, I get to keep it as a permanent companion. However, I'm trying to work out how I can restore or increase its HPs, so that it doesn't die (lol) on me.

Would a Zombie companion (un)naturally recover HPs each day?

This is not a question about "healing" an undead creature such as a zombie.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Ok, so this is not a question about whether a Zombie can be healed at all, but specifically whether a Zombie companion would recover HP inherently somehow? (It sounds like 5e companions normally do that, is that right?) \$\endgroup\$ Jan 31 '20 at 12:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The duplicate link I just added seems like the correct duplicate now, do you agree? \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Jan 31 '20 at 12:40
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @doppelgreener Yes, that is what I was asking. The answer is in both of those links. Thanks NautArch as well. \$\endgroup\$
    – Thank-Glob
    Jan 31 '20 at 13:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for clarifying. I've reopened the question so it can get its own independent & directed answer. Feel free to answer it yourself as well, if you'd like! \$\endgroup\$ Jan 31 '20 at 13:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ How does the Zombie appear? Is it a fey spirit that resembles a zombie, or an actual dead person who you "wake up" every time you cast the spell above their place of burial? Also, do you use the official Zombie stats or custom-made ones? It would be very helpful if you could also update the question with the homebrew spell description along with any limitations. \$\endgroup\$ Jan 31 '20 at 14:12
4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

Adventurers, as well as other creatures, can take short rests in the midst of a day and a long rest to end it.

Your zombie is an “other creature” and has no specific rule that says they can’t rest and benefit from doing so.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .