12
\$\begingroup\$

Is it possible for a creature created by the tiny servant spell (XGtE, p. 168) to wield and use a magic item, such as a wand of magic missiles?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Feb 4, 2020 at 1:41

1 Answer 1

15
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it can use the wand

The creature animated by tiny servant is a creature and the spell places no restrictions on what kind of actions it can take, or be commanded to take.

As a bonus action, you can mentally command the creature if it is within 120 feet of you. [...] You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn [...]

Therefore, it is able to use any general magic items, including a wand of magic missiles.

For other magic items, a tiny servant can even attune to (up to three) magic items, but not ones that have requirements (such as being a spellcaster) that it does not fulfil (such as the wand of fireballs). It is also limited by its carrying capacity — which for a Tiny creature with a Strength of 4 is 30 lb — but this is not a problem for most items.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @DaleM Wand of magic missiles does not require attunement, so there is nothing to say that it can't \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Feb 4, 2020 at 1:55
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Even if it required attunement they could attune to it since that's something even an animal can do \$\endgroup\$ Feb 4, 2020 at 2:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ There is an extra requirement that might come into play - command word. The tiny servant has no mouth or vocal apparatus. So, it can use a wand of magic missiles but not a broom of flying. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 4, 2020 at 20:53

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .