4
\$\begingroup\$

Can a Bard use Glyph of Warding even though they do not "prepare" spells?

In looking at the reasonable boundaries of using Glyph of Warding in the game, I came across a dilemma in the wording of the spell when it comes to classes that do not have "prepared spells", but have "known spells instead.

Glyph of Warding says that "you can store a prepared spell", however this wording becomes an issue when interpreting whether a Bard can or cannot use this spell.

A bard does not per se "prepare" their spells. Yet, the spell is listed in the Bard Spells section in the Player's Handbook (p.207). Hrumpf! It is listed as a Bard spell which normally suggest that it is intended to be used by a Bard as part of their magical repertoire, but the wording needs clarification.

So, for the purposes of interpreting the wording in Glyph of Warding, can we equate "prepared spell" with "known spell", which would mean the Bard can actually use this spell?

Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph. If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature. If the spell summons hostile creatures or creates harmful objects or traps, they appear as close as possible to the intruder and attack it. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration. (PHB p.245)

Special thanks to BBeast for kindly mentioning this issue in his answer to: Can you store Hex in a Glyph of Warding?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I agree its not explicitly spelled out that "known spells" are effectively "always prepared spells", but the question linked as the duplicate gives this as the answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – PJRZ
    Feb 6, 2020 at 10:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you @PJRZ that is exactly what I was looking for. This is a helpful answer for anyone who multi-classes and wishes to use a "known spell" from a class like a Warlock or Ranger. Thanks again. :) \$\endgroup\$
    – Senmurv
    Feb 6, 2020 at 11:25

0

Browse other questions tagged .