The rules on Underwater Combat (PHB pg. 198) state:
When making a melee weapon attack, a creature that doesn't have a swimming speed (either natural or granted by magic) has disadvantage on the attack roll unless the weapon is a dagger, javelin, shortsword, spear, or trident.
The description of the Gloves of Swimming and Climbing (DMG pg. 172) says:
While wearing these gloves, climbing and swimming don't cost you extra movement, and you gain a +5 bonus to Strength (Athletics) checks made to climb or swim.
Would wearing the gloves of swimming and climbing count as having a swimming speed for the purpose of avoiding disadvantage on underwater attack rolls?