17
\$\begingroup\$

I have a wizard that specialized in Conjuration. Evocation is among his prohibited schools. There is a spell called "Kelgore's Fire Bolt" (PHB2) that is marked as both Conjuration and Evocation [Fire]. According to the rules, can this specialist wizard learn and cast the spell or not?

\$\endgroup\$
30
\$\begingroup\$

Dual-school spells appeared only in Player’s Handbook II and Dragon Magic, and so those are the books that explain them (the explanation is the same in both).

In all cases, treat these spells as if they belonged to both schools simultaneously. Effects that prevent a spellcaster from accessing one school of a dual-school spell prevent all access to that spell. For example, a specialist wizard cannot learn a dual-school spell if either of the spell’s schools is one of his prohibited schools.

(Player’s Handbook II pg. 95, Dragon Magic pg. 60)

So no, your wizard cannot learn or cast Kelgore’s fire bolt as a wizard spell. You could cast it from an item, or using wish or something similar, or take levels in another class that gets access to it, but as a wizard, without something exceptional, it’s not an option for you.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Damn you and your quick fingers. I just found that passage. \$\endgroup\$ – JohnP Feb 10 at 16:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does this interpretation invalidate the answer on this question? \$\endgroup\$ – JohnP Feb 10 at 16:11
  • 13
    \$\begingroup\$ @JohnP No, because advanced learning doesn’t say something crazy like “the spell must not be a non-necromancy spell,” it says it “must be a necromancy spell.” A dual-school spell with one of its schools is a necromancy spell, so is eligible. It’s just also something else—which is fine, nothing about advanced learning says it’s not allowed to be. Specialist wizards, on the other hand, do have something that says it’s not allowed to be from one of those schools. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Feb 10 at 16:18
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ One other point, a specialist wizard cannot cast prohibited schools from spell completion items including wands, scrolls, staves, or any other items that require the user to complete the spell. It could only be activated, not cast, from an item (such as keyword activation on a wondrous item) \$\endgroup\$ – Wannabe Warlock Feb 11 at 20:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @WannabeWarlock I was going to mention UMD explicitly, but then decided that there probably exist items that allow you to “cast” at least some spells without UMD (I mean, probably, right? just based on the sheer quantity of content out there), so I figured I’d just leave it out, because you can cast spells from items. It might require UMD to do so, depending on the type of item, but you can. And all that seemed like too much to go into in that sorta-tangential sentence. As you said, though, in no case does that make it casting “as a wizard”—which is what I said too. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Feb 12 at 0:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.