6
\$\begingroup\$

I have a level 11 Eldritch Knight with two weapon fighting.

The rules say I have 3 attacks per action.

The rules say when ever I make an attack action with my main hand I can make a bonus attack action with my offhand.

Does that mean I get 3 attacks on my off hand as well?

\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

No; what the rules actually say is one bonus action per turn

We will frame this answer using the action economy as written in Chapter 9. {my italics and bolding throughout}

Your Turn
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action.

As you state, you will take the Attack action (rather than perhaps the Dash, Disengage, or Dodge action)

Bonus Actions
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available. You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn...

You want your bonus action to be the one for two weapon fighting.

Two-Weapon Fighting (Chapter 9)

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.

But since you have this fighting style (Chapter 3) ...

Two-Weapon Fighting. When you engage in two-weapon fighting, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second attack.

... you do apply your damage bonus.

The Action is attack; a Fighter 11 gets two extra attacks when you make that attack as an action. A Barbarian 11 would only get one extra attack.

  • Extra Attack is a class feature that adds attack(s) to the generic attack action. You are not taking multiple actions; you are taking one action, attack, but you get to roll for more chances for making an effective attack that does damage. A wizard could not do this. (Wrong class).

Attack (Ch 9)

The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists. With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack.
{snip}
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.

An Action is a different thing from a bonus action. (Yes, that can be confusing) Here is how bonus actions work - in your turn, after you take your action, or before, you get to take one bonus action. From the CH 9 two weapon fighting rule ...

you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand.

A is singular, and that attack is not the same as the Attack (Action) since it is a bonus action.

So what happens is this:
You choose to make the Attack action, so you attack and add two extra attacks for your high level - total of three attack rolls for this turn's attack Action.
You can add one bonus action attack with the other weapon - total of four for this turn.

Note that "offhand" isn't addressed in this edition of the game: that term is a carry over from earlier editions.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for this very in depth answer to my question. The way you explain this totally removes all confusion I had on this subject. Thanks for that. 5 gold stars from me \$\endgroup\$ – Oldenborg Feb 15 at 18:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ Glad to be of help; Happy Gaming! 8^) \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Feb 15 at 19:37
4
\$\begingroup\$

RAW, no.

PHB pg189

You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.

Specific over general. The rules state that you receive your movement, one action, one bonus action, and one reaction .

If a specific rule contraddicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.

The multiattacks are an example of a specific rule breaking the general rule outlined in the Player's Hamdbook. Furthermore, the specific rule is only mentioning the Attack Action. There is no wording to assume a further inclusion of the Bonus Action as well.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ He thought that because he got 3 attacks in one action. He would also get 3 attacks in one bonus action. Not that he would get 3 bonus actions. \$\endgroup\$ – Sam Lacrumb Feb 15 at 18:34
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ By the way, this answer is showing up in the "Low Quality Posts" review queue (hence the above auto-comment). I personally think this does technically answer the question, but I think it would be better if it was expanded a little, rather than just quoting one rule and assuming it speaks for itself. Explain why that rule answers this question. \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Feb 15 at 19:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ This answer was posted before the question was in a state of being answerable. @NathanS so I flagged it for deletion. \$\endgroup\$ – Akixkisu Feb 15 at 20:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Akixkisu That's fair enough, that makes sense to me. My comment was just to try to prompt the author to add a bit more to the answer, since it's drawing more deletion votes, but I think with a bit more effort it could deter any further deletion votes. But in it's current state, could go either way... \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Feb 15 at 20:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sorry, i should have elaborated more at first but did not want to turn the answer into an English paper full of fluff and repetitious language. The mathematician in me wanted to just get the answer outt there. \$\endgroup\$ – Wartowel Feb 15 at 23:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.