I have a Pact of the Chain Warlock/Evocation Wizard character. All of my current Warlock spells are also on the Wizard spell list, except Eldritch Blast of course.

I've found a related question about a Cleric/Wizard, but that post is several years old and has some pretty conflicting answers. Not to mention it's not about Warlock and Wizard spells.

Am I able to transcribe my Warlock spells into my Wizard spellbook?


No, I'm afraid not. The multiclass spellcasting rules on p. 164 in the Player's Handbook explain that each class prepares spells as if it were single classed.

Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.

Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ While I appreciate you taking the time to respond, this answer does not address the question asked. Perhaps you can rework it so that it does? \$\endgroup\$ – aaron9eee Feb 18 '20 at 4:00
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes it does answer the question. There is no crossover allowed for spells, between spell classes. \$\endgroup\$ – Sam Lacrumb Feb 18 '20 at 4:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.