7
\$\begingroup\$

Can the wish spell overcome a rakshasa's limited magic immunity when used to duplicate the effect of a lower-level spell?

I always wondered how the two interacted. What if I cast wish, duplicating the spell contagion (normally a 5th-level spell), at a rakshasa? The creature is immune to spells of 6th level or under, but does my spell count as a 9th-level spell because I used wish, or a 5th-level spell because the effect is that of contagion? Perhaps it counts as 9th for counterspell purposes, but 5th-level for immunity purposes?

If anyone has an answer, I would love to hear it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Feb 16 at 19:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't think the previous answers are quite an answer to this question. They do point out that you could use Wish to cast higher level version of low level spells. But the question is asking if the Rakshasha's immunity to low level spells would be an issue if Wish, a high level spell, simulated the effects of one of these "lower-level spells." \$\endgroup\$ – Gandalfmeansme Feb 16 at 20:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't agree Medix2. The question is asking whether "the Wish spell overcome[s] a rakshasa's limited magic immunity when used to duplicate the effect of a lower-level spell." These other questions clearly show that a caster could duplicate a high-level spell (by casting, say, contagion as though an 8th level spell), and that's worth including in the answer. But the question is asking if the spellcaster does not do that, but rather simulates the spell at the lower level (perhaps they need to for some reason?), would it be subject to the rakshasa's immunity. At least as I read it. \$\endgroup\$ – Gandalfmeansme Feb 16 at 21:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Gandalfmeansme Oh, if that is indeed the question being asked here, then I would agree with your assessment that is it not a duplicate. I'll just wait on confirmation from the OP about what they're asking \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Feb 16 at 21:48
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Heh: I suspect that the OP would be totally happy with the answer the linked questions produce. But the question they actually asked (likely accidentally) is interesting to me, and I'd like to see if someone attempts to answer it. \$\endgroup\$ – Gandalfmeansme Feb 16 at 21:50
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

The Wish spell's first line states:

The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower.

By my interpretation, this line means that the duplicated spell, with all of the effect(s) contained therein, is itself an effect of the Wish spell. Since Wish is a 9th-level spell (which is greater than 6th level), the duplicated spell, as an effect of a 9th-level spell, will be able to affect the Rakshasa.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Small pedantic comment, but "the casting of the duplicated spell" is slightly off from what happens. The duplicated spell is not even cast, it simply takes effect. This does further support your answer though. Wish is cast, a 9th-level spell, which can then be used to duplicate the effect of contagion. The spell level is 9th regardless. \$\endgroup\$ – Zigmata Feb 18 at 22:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Zigmata good catch! Edited to reflect your observation. \$\endgroup\$ – London Feb 20 at 14:06
1
\$\begingroup\$

If you duplicate the spell at 6th or lower level, No.

This part of a wish spell does not create the effect, it duplicates a spell. As spells only do what they say, the only part of the spell that is not a direct duplicate are written into the wish spell description.

Wish
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.
PHB p.288

So the requirements, including costly components, are no longer required. Everything else about the spell (including range, valid targets, spell level, duration, school of magic, etc.) would be directly duplicated.

But you CAN avoid the limited magic immunity by casting a lower level spell at a higher level even if it's description does not include an "if cast at a higher level" see here. So unless you are specifically trying to reduce the effectiveness of a spell by limiting the level of the duplicated spell, you can cast it at a level above 6th.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

I believe that is would because the spell Wish states "The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect." Also, you are using a 9th level spell slot soit would be considered nineth level which would be a high enough level to not be affected by limmited magic immunity.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.