4
\$\begingroup\$

Could I ready an action to use Swallow Whole?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Swallow Whole is not something you can ready

If a creature with this special attack begins its turn with an opponent grappled in its mouth (see Grab), it can attempt a new combat manoeuver check (as though attempting to pin the opponent). If it succeeds, it swallows its prey, and the opponent take bites damages

(emphasis mine)

You can ready a bite attack, but Swallow Whole is an ability that specifically triggers at the start of one turn. Note that it goes the same way for an eidolon or a monster, or any creature with the standard Swallow Whole special ability.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.