9
\$\begingroup\$

Could a Loxodon in full plate armor with tower shield in one hand, wield a greatsword with the other hand and their trunk?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm a bit confused here, what exactly do you mean by this? What makes you think that the rules might work in this way? \$\endgroup\$ – Smart_TJ Feb 18 at 4:34
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Daniel, welcome to rpg.se! Take the tour and visit the help center for more information. This is a good first question but it might help answerers if you identify which version of the Loxodon race you are using, I assume the version from Unearthed Arcana but it helps to be specific. Good luck and happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – linksassin Feb 18 at 4:44
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Where are you getting a tower shield in 5e? \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Feb 18 at 16:29
29
\$\begingroup\$

Nope, not by RAW.

From Guildmasters' Guide to Ravnica (p18), in the Loxodon's traits:

Trunk. ... Your trunk can't wield weapons or shields or do anything that requires manual precision.

Unless of course you have a generous DM who is willing to bend the rules, then that's their call.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Indeed! ...and yet ironic, since elephants in the real world take years to master using their trunks because of the sheer scale of muscle memory it requires to master them. I reckon Loxodon should be allowed to at least play darts with their trunks. :) \$\endgroup\$ – Senmurv Feb 19 at 9:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.