3
\$\begingroup\$

Inspired by this question: Can a Druid pull a target through other creatures with Thorn Whip?

That Q&A concludes that it is possible for two creatures to unwillingly share the same space; for example, one creature could be pulled by thorn whip into the space of another creature.

Once the thorn whip caster's turn is over, when it is one of the other two creature's turns (either the one who was pulled or the one's whose space was invaded), they will of course start their turn in another creature's space.

From the PHB, p. 191:

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space.

Are they allowed to end their turn in the other creature's space if they don't use any movement, or must they move out of the space (if they can; i.e. they have movement)?


Related:

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

Unless they physically can’t, for example, by having 0 speed or nowhere to go.

Because they get to move on their turn and cannot willingly end their move in another creatures space, they must move out if able.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Looking at the end of the answer provided by @Rykara in the linked question -

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can't willingly end your move in its space.

The creatures are not willingly sharing a space so, for the time being, they do occupy the same space (through no fault of their own).

Once one of the two creatures has a turn, it gets movement and is subject to the requirement that it must move out of the shared space.

It is clarified that once one of the two creatures can move, they must as they cannot willingly occupy the same space at the end of their turn.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This answer would benefit from clearly stating yes or no, are they forced to move / change position, or not. I believe you are saying yes, but writing it directly, for clarity, would be nice. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Feb 18 at 11:26

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.