6
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing a multiclassed wizard 6, bard 1. I know that you can't copy non-wizard spells into your spellbook.

What if I copied one of the 1st-level spells I have access to as a Bard that is also on the wizard spell list? Can I make a scroll out of it and then have that same character copy it into his spellbook, since it's still a spell that a wizard could learn from his level up?

I've seen other questions like this but never for a spell that was both the spell lists of wizard and another class.

PS: I looked at the link you sent but it doesn't answer the question. That one was talking about a spell that wizards are unable to learn and that is not in their spell list. I am talking about spells that bards and wizards share.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ If you're playing 5e this may help: Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from Bard, into Wizard spellbook? \$\endgroup\$ – Steve Feb 19 at 5:04
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Oh yeah, I also ought to mention that a question being [closed] doesn't mean that it's shut down forever, since anything closed can be reopened again (it doesn't even require moderator intervention to be reopened, just a few users, maybe even the same users who originally closed the question). Think of it as "work in progress", rather than just "DENIED" like it might be on other websites. Also, take the tour to find out how things work here, and visit the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Feb 19 at 10:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Hemmingway89 You should probably complete registration so that you can log back into your account. That way you get to edit your question without going through review queue (as happened now) and you'll keep rep and get all the benefits of that. (You may also need to go through the process of merging accounts so you get to own this question.) \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Feb 20 at 23:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do either these answer your question? "Can a multiclass Warlock/Wizard add spells known from Warlock to the Wizard spellbook?" and "Can a Wizard 14/Bard 3 copy bard scrolls into the wizard spellbook?". In particular the line "you should be able to craft a spell scroll of Comprehend Languages as a Bard (Crafting a Magic Item, DMG pg. 128) and then copy it into your spellbook from there [...] This would mean that spells common to both the can be scribed by a Bard and then copied by a Wizard." \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Feb 21 at 0:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ I just realized I linked the wrong Q/A earlier. I meant to link to this one: "Can a multi-class Bard/Wizard write spells known from Bard, into Wizard spellbook?" That now squared away, did your character make the spell scroll in question? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Feb 21 at 18:45
2
\$\begingroup\$

It looks the answer is YES

Xanathar's Guide to Everything (page 133) says:

SCRIBING A SPELL SCROLL

With time and patience, a spellcaster can transfer a spell to a scroll, creating a spell scroll.

Resources

Scribing a spell scroll takes an amount of time and money related to the level of the spell the character wants to scribe, as shown in the Spell Scroll Costs table. In addition, the character must have proficiency in the Arcana skill and must provide any material components required for the casting of the spell. Moreover, the character must have the spell prepared, or it must be among the character's known spells, in order to scribe a scroll of that spell. If the scribed spell is a cantrip, the version on the scroll works as if the caster were 1st level.

And in the spell scroll section of the Dungeon Master's Handbook (page 200) says:

A wizard spell on a spell scroll can be copied just as spells in spellbooks can be copied. When a spell is copied from a spell scroll, the copier must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 + the spell's level. If the check succeeds, the spell is successfully copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll is destroyed.

So, seeing as the spell the Bard is choosing to scribe is on the Wizard spell it will be able to copied to the spell book. This is of course dependent on the PC having the Arcana proficiency (to scribe the scroll) and passing any required checks.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.