I'm running a whip-wielding ranger/rogue, and I'm wondering if it's possible to poison a whip, both from a rules standpoint and as a practical matter.
Rules-wise, there's this from the DMG:
Injury. A creature that takes slashing or piercing damage from a weapon or piece of ammunition coated with injury poison is exposed to its effects.
since a whip deals slashing damage, it suggests that it's at least legal. The PHB seems to back this up:
Poison, Basic. You can use the poison in this vial to coat one slashing or piercing weapon or up to three pieces o f ammunition. Applying the poison takes an action...
Am I missing anything that specifies bladed or metal weapons? Then, assuming it's legal, the other question is does it make sense? I'm no expert on whips, although at our local Renaissance Faire there's a guy who dips his chainmail bullwhip in gas and lights it on fire, which suggests a whip might soak up a liquid, like a poison.
Is there anyone out there who can make a practical case for or against poisoning a whip?