7
\$\begingroup\$

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat?

I won't detail it heavily, but can an Elf and/or Half-Elf Wizard (Bladesinger) combine all these for enhanced benefit?

Or do the benefits not "stack/combine"?

Assume the campaign settings associated with the source material are not an issue, like if using a one-off or custom baked campaign setting (or FR/EW setting with option for other setting content).

If this combination works, this could be one wild build, if somewhat limited by its other features.

I don't ever really need to make a melee attack when I'm using Bladesong; it's mainly for the AC boost while focusing on casting (maybe I'd melee attack if in an antimagic field or whatever rare "can't cast because of X" situation occurs).

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

Yes it can be combined as long as you don't use two hands to make an attack with a weapon

Bladesong don't have limitations on what you are holding in your hands:

Bladesong: Starting at 2nd level, you can invoke a secret elven magic called the Bladesong, provided that you aren't wearing medium or heavy armor or using a shield. It graces you with supernatural speed, agility, and focus.

You can use a bonus action to start the Bladesong, which lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are incapacitated, if you don medium or heavy armor or a shield, or if you use two hands to make an attack with a weapon. You can also dismiss the Bladesong at any time you choose (no action required).

Nothing specifies you need to have one free hand or anything like casting a spell so as long as you don't attack with it while holding the weapon you are ok.

Revenant Blade Prerequisite: Elf

You are descended from a master of the double-blade, and some of that mastery has passed on to you. You gain the following benefits:

• Increase your Dexterity or Strength score by 1, to a maximum of 20.

• While wielding a double-bladed weapon with two hands, you gain +1 AC.

• A double-bladed scimitar has the finesse property when you wield it.

Only wielding the double-bladed weapon with 2 hands is required for Revenant Blade to proc (the +1AC).

Sidenotes

  • To respond to one of your comment: Sword burst is legal because it has only verbal component, however any spell with a somatic component would make you lose the Revenant Blade benefit because you need to hold the weapon with 2 hands.
  • You can put your hand back on your weapon as a free action if you are further away you could just hold the weapon in one hand (losing Revenant Blade benefits of a +1 AC for a moment) cast a spell with a somatic component, then put your hand back on the weapon to gain Revenant Blade effect back (Bladesong would still be active and at the end of your spell you'd be fine)
  • It's worth noting that a double-bladed scimitar has the Two-Handed property, so you can't attack with it unless you're holding it in both hands – @nick012000
|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

They cannot be combined.

Bladesong ends early if you "use two hands to make an attack with a weapon" (SCAG p.142).

A double-bladed scimitar always has the two-handed property (ERFTLW p.22), which the Revenant Blade feat doesn't remove.

So while you would be able to use one, it would end your main subclass feature immediately.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ only if I attack, right? as I can "hold" (wield) it with two hands. Even if i'm just running around casting "Sword burst" and other non S/M spells (if i have to go that hard-core) I'd get the pumped-up AC? \$\endgroup\$ – Jeffrey Witty Feb 24 at 7:11
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ so i could combine, but not if I was melee attacking. To clean that up \$\endgroup\$ – Jeffrey Witty Feb 24 at 7:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, but in that case you might as well just get the Dual Wielder feat (since it doesn't say anything about two weapon fighting) to get the +1 bonus anyway. \$\endgroup\$ – RallozarX Feb 24 at 14:35
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That would preclude the ability to "let go" with 1-hand and not need an action to sheath it or draw it (off-hand weapon). But the loss of AC would be the same, although you only lose your +1AC bonus WHILE casting S/M spells (like to a REACTION to your casting) as after casting the hand returns to the weapon (at no cost) to return your AC bonus \$\endgroup\$ – Jeffrey Witty Feb 24 at 17:42
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ that limit would only effect reactions to your spells, as after the spell was cast your hand is returned to weapon for the +1AC back .You only need 1 free hand & and moving your hand (in this case grip) is a free action. For +1 to max AC on a wizard there is alot i'd be willing to do (like using up an attunment), moving my hand seems a light fee. \$\endgroup\$ – Jeffrey Witty Feb 24 at 20:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.