1
\$\begingroup\$

If I cast Stinking Cloud, or Grease, or any other Battlefield Control spell under the Sculpt Spell feat, would it work in order to "create holes" and not hit my allies, or it is exclusive to Evocation spells?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ D&D 3.5 I assume (and did for the edit)? It isn't much of an assumption, but it's always nice to have it super clearly. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Feb 27 at 1:11
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Please note for future reference that you need to mention the game as well as the edition. 3.5 doesn't clarify things if we don't know what game you're talking about. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Feb 27 at 1:12
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Feb 27 at 1:13
3
\$\begingroup\$

Sculpt Spell doesn't list any restriction on which schools of magic it can be used on, only that it applies to "an area spell." Grease has an Area entry in its description, so there's no reason why it wouldn't be able to benefit from the feat.

Stinking cloud, however, is more of a gray area. By a natural English reading, it's clearly a spell that affects an area. But in its description it doesn't have an Area, but rather an Effect. So by RAW, it doesn't work with the feat, but logically it makes enough sense, and for the cost of a feat and a higher level spell slot I don't think it would be broken to allow it to work (at least not more broken than such spells already tend to be).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.