Magic Jar p. 257 of the Player's Handbook states:

Once you possess a creature's body, you control it. Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the creature, though you retain your alignment and your Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You retain the benefit of your own class features. If the target has any class levels, you can't use any of its class features.

Since you gain ability increases and feats (like Elven Accuracy) as part of your class levels, am I correct in assuming you keep them in the new body even if one of them had your ancestry as a prerequisite?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I change the title to say "class" instead of "racial" to match the question. Hope that's ok. \$\endgroup\$
    – PJRZ
    Mar 4 '20 at 10:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Actually no, because it's specific to the racial element of the feat. I'm not confused by the class element. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 4 '20 at 11:09
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It's 2 separate things. I don't understand your confusion. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 4 '20 at 12:46
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Related on Do you lose racial feats when reincarnated out of your race? and [](rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/111184/…) \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Mar 4 '20 at 13:09
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I do think you need to ask the ability score question separately from the racial feats one. But the above related may be sufficient. \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Mar 4 '20 at 13:11

Page 154 of Player's Handbook:

You must meet any prerequisite specified in a feat to take that feat. If you ever lose a feat’s prerequisite, you can’t use that feat until you regain the prerequisite.

Since racial traits have at least a race as prerequisite and since your body is no longer of said race, you don't meet it anymore and can't use it although you retain it, to no avail...

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Mar 11 '20 at 22:25

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .