3
\$\begingroup\$

I'm 99% certain not, but maybe I'm wrong. Does the shield spell count as a shield for eg: Shielded casting?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

5
\$\begingroup\$

No

Shielded Casting from Races of Stone states:

As long as you have a light shield, heavy shield, or tower shield ready, ...

The spell Shield states:

Shield creates an invisible, tower shield-sized mobile disk of force that hovers in front of you. It negates magic missile attacks directed at you. The disk also provides a +4 shield bonus to AC. This bonus applies against incorporeal touch attacks, since it is a force effect. The shield has no armor check penalty or arcane spell failure chance. Unlike with a normal tower shield, you can’t use the shield spell for cover.

While it creates a force effect the size of a tower shield, the behavior of the disk is otherwise not like a tower shield. It simply grants a shield bonus to AC, likely so the caster cannot stack its effect with that of a normal shield.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .