7
\$\begingroup\$

2e introduced quite a lot of new rules, one being conditions. I didn't find any quote there and it left me wondering: Does drained (and other conditions) stack?

Example: One poison says:

Stage 1 1d6 poison damage and drained 1 (1 hour); Stage 2 2d6 poison damage and drained 2 (1 hour); Stage 3 3d6 poison damage and drained 2 (1 hour)

If a creature fails Saves such that they are affected by stage 1, then 2, then 3, do you have 5 drained or only 2?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I made some fairly significant edits, but I believe I kept the intent of your question and broadened it to help draw attention and prevent redundant (no pun intended) questions. If you feel like I changed your message, feel free to roll it back or re-edit it. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Mar 9 at 20:48
8
\$\begingroup\$

Conditions with Different Values Don't Accumulate

This is addressed in the redundant conditions with values sidebar on pg.623.

Conditions with different values are considered different conditions. If you’re affected by a condition with a value multiple times, you apply only the highest value, although you might have to track both durations if one has a lower value but lasts longer

So in a hypothetical case where you already have Drained 1, then get hit with Drained 2, you only "feel" Drained 2.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ hmmm could it be that it was part of an errata? (618 has no sidebar for me but not using any erratas so far nor did I looked thhrough them) \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas E. Mar 9 at 18:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasE. Found it. Edited with the real page number. \$\endgroup\$ – indigochild Mar 9 at 19:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.