I've recently been discussing a combo found in this chapter of Harry Potter and the Natural 20. If needed, ctrl+f for "I am not walking in that" for the start of the encounter. The relevant part is quite short, damn good, near the end of the chapter, and does not overflow in to the next chapter. As I understand it, the situation is as follows:
- Milo, our protagonist, is being hit by ranged magical attacks from an unknown location.
- There is a blizzard, presumably giving the enemy concealment.
- Because Milo does not know where the enemy is, he can't target it with magical attacks.
- To counter this, he casts True Strike, following by Guided Shot (swift action - Complete Adventurer, I believe) and throws his dagger "in a completely random direction". This was enough to hit his target.
- His plan is to find his target by using another divination to locate the dagger after it has hit, but that's not relevant to my question.
My question is this: To my understanding, Milo has the following benefits before throwing the dagger:
- A +20 insight bonus to his attack roll
- He is not affected by the miss chance that applies to attackers trying to strike a concealed target
- His ranged attack suffers no penalty due to distance, but he still can't exceed his max range
- His ranged attack ignores the AC bonus granted to targets by anything less than total cover.
However, as great as all of these are, are they enough to actually allow you to attempt to attack such a target? The rules have precedent for attacking targets that you can't see but can approximately locate (e.g. the rules for Invisibility), but in this case we've not seen the target and only have the vaguest idea of where it is.