5
\$\begingroup\$

Let's say a Wizard casts Wall of Fire in the ring shape, choosing the inside of the wall as the side that does damage.

An enemy is in one of the squares on the edge of the ring (ie. one of the 8 squares on the outside of the template for a 20' diameter circle, and not the 4 inner squares). Therefore, the enemy must make a Dex save and might take 5d8 damage.

If it makes the save, is it inside the ring?

If it fails the save, is it inside the ring?

Here is a good reference for the way the damage works: Ringed Wall of Fire: How does the damage sequence go?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Creatures do not move when making a saving throw against wall of fire

The wall of fire spell states:

[...] When the wall appears, each creature within its area must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 5d8 fire damage, or half as much damage on a successful save [...]

One thing we know is that spells do only what they say they do and wall of fire does not say that creatures move after attempting (succeeding or failing) its saving throw. Thus they do not move.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 13 at 19:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ So just to clarify the answer: Any creature that was literally touching the ring of fire when the spell was cast, is still literally touching the ring of fire when its turn starts. That seems reasonable to me. I have no idea why you mention an odd shape and reference another question, which muddies your answer. I recommend removing that part of the answer. Either way, thanks for the reply! \$\endgroup\$ – Ira Mar 14 at 4:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.