8
\$\begingroup\$

Some spells like Investiture of Flame, Investiture of Ice, Investiture of Wind, Investiture of Stone and Dragon's Breath have effects that grant a damaging spell-like action. Is it possible to cast the spell on yourself and maintain concentration, then enter Wild Shape and use those actions?

I'm aware that there are probably many more spells like these that grant actions, and some, like Dragon's Breath, would need a multi-class. I picture a tiny spider throwing tornadoes or causing earthquakes or spewing fire.

I'm also aware that it was unofficially tweeted that a dragonborn can still use their racial Breath Weapon trait in Wild Shape.

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

You can use any effect of a spell that you have already cast before going into wild shape.

The text of Wild Shape states, in part (emphasis mine):

  • You can’t cast spells, and your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form. Transforming doesn’t break your concentration on a spell you’ve already cast, however, or prevent you from taking actions that are part of a spell, such as call lightning, that you’ve already cast.

This does not limit it in any way other than that you cannot cast spells, and if the action requires you to speak or use a human-like body part. So if you have already cast Investiture of Flame, you get all of the benefits for as long as you maintain concentration as your itsy bitsy spider (In Soviet Underdark, Spider kill YOU with fire).

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.