3
\$\begingroup\$

On page 366 of Pathfinder 2e Core Rulebook, for the Sanctuary spell it states:

You ward a creature with protective energy that deters enemy attacks. Creatures attempting to attack the target must attempt a Will save each time. If the target uses a hostile action, the spell ends."

Does trying to break a door count as a hostile action? It does not specify if the action is considered hostile only if it is directed towards a creature.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Breaking down a door is generally not a Hostile Action

Hostile Actions are defined as something that directly harms another creature.

Sometimes spell effects prevent a target from using hostile actions, or the spell ends if a creature uses any hostile actions. A hostile action is one that can harm or damage another creature, whether directly or indirectly, but not one that a creature is unaware could cause harm. For instance, lobbing a fireball into a crowd would be a hostile action, but opening a door and accidentally freeing a horrible monster would not be. The GM is the final arbitrator of what constitutes a hostile action.

So, if you are simply trying to enter a building, your Sanctuary will (probably) remain intact. If you are attempting to break the door into a creature to harm it, it will not. Anything else is up to GM discretion (especially when trying to break into a building so that you can reach creatures to do harm).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.