7
\$\begingroup\$

Does the type of weapon used (piercing, slashing, bludgeoning) have any effect in Pathfinder RPG? For example, in AD&D 2e, the type of weapon modifies attack rolls according to the defender's armor type. (E.g., piercing weapons have an attack bonus on chain mail and so on…) Does something like this exist in Pathfinder too?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

14
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. There are consequences for the weapon type used, but modifiers against armour types have been discarded.

DR: Some monsters are resistant to certain types of damage. This can be seen in DR for skeletons where their DR is 5/Bludgeoning.

Feats: Some feats also require certain weapon types to be effective, for example Bleeding Critical requires a slashing or piercing weapon to be used.

Smashing: Smashing objects requires a blungeoning or slashing weapon.

Magic weapons: Certain magical weapon effects can only be applied to certain weapons. For example keen can only be applied to piercing or slashing melee weapons.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You might want to leave accepting an answer a little longer in case I've missed anything, or indeed someone finds a case where I'm wrong :) \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob
    Commented Sep 12, 2012 at 11:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also, some enchantments can only be placed on certain types of weapons. \$\endgroup\$
    – YogoZuno
    Commented Sep 12, 2012 at 12:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Cheers, will add that \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob
    Commented Sep 12, 2012 at 12:14
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ May as well add as much info as possible, for the next person who comes looking for the same thing. \$\endgroup\$
    – YogoZuno
    Commented Sep 13, 2012 at 2:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ it's definitely an edge case, but being swallowed whole requires you to use piercing or slashing to escape, if memory serves. Also, some oozes only split with certain damage types (typically either slashing or both piercing and slashing, which is the balancing-case for swallow whole monsters... and what if an ooze has swallow whole?!). \$\endgroup\$ Commented Aug 6, 2014 at 2:28

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .