12
\$\begingroup\$

The blinded condition states (emphasis mine):

A blinded creature can't see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight. [...]

Meanwhile the Divination Wizard's Portent feature states (emphasis mine):

[...] You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these foretelling rolls. [...]

It seems clear to me that a Divination Wizard could not use the Portent feature on another creature while the Wizard is blinded because the target would no longer be a creature they could see. However, I'm unsure how this applies when changing one of the Wizard's own rolls.

Can a Divination Wizard really use the Portent feature while blinded but only on their own rolls?

\$\endgroup\$
20
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

There are 2 valid targets described.

  1. You
  2. Another creature that you can see

So, therefore the wizard can always modify their own rolls.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ In addition, if the ability check requires sight, they automatically fail, and thus can't use Portent to reroll that check? \$\endgroup\$
    – Imaginary
    Mar 23 '20 at 11:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ In the case of automatic failure i don't believe that a roll is made. Or, if a roll is made, the result doesn't matter. So maybe you could modify the roll but it would still fail. Automatically. \$\endgroup\$
    – Destruktor
    Mar 24 '20 at 14:57
8
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, they can.

It says "you or a creature you can see". If you're blinded, you can't see any creatures, so the eligible subjects are just "you".

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, but only if it doesn't require sight.

If you automatically fail a roll, you do not roll said dice and then you have nothing to replace.

Otherwise you can replace your own rolls as normal.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .