6
\$\begingroup\$

The beholder emits an Antimagic Cone:

The beholder's central eye creates an area of antimagic, as in the antimagic field spell, in a 150-foot cone. At the start of each of its turns, the beholder decides which way the cone faces and whether the cone is active. The area works against the beholder's own eye rays.

According to the Basic Rule, Ch. 10, Cone:

A cone extends in a direction you choose from its point of origin. A cone's width at a given point along its length is equal to that point's distance from the point of origin. A cone's area of effect specifies its maximum length.

A cone's point of origin is not included in the cone's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.

Can a beholder chose to include itself in its Antimagic Cone? Would that make it effectively immune to harmful spells like Blindness/Deafness?

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Are you playing on a grid? If so, which set of rules are you using to determine the point of origin and affected regions for come shaped effects (PHB, DMG, Xanathar's, which has multiple)? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Mar 27 '20 at 17:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Yes, we are using a grid. However, I wasn't aware that PHB, DMG, and XGE had different sets of grid rules. How do they differ, and how would those differences affect the answer? \$\endgroup\$ – Joshua Mar 27 '20 at 19:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ I can't find the question but this is a duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ – Eternallord66 Mar 27 '20 at 20:39
  • \$\begingroup\$ Somewhat related: "Can a Beholder face its Antimagic Cone behind itself?" \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Mar 27 '20 at 21:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ There are questions about whether you include yourself in the cone that this would be a duplicate of. \$\endgroup\$ – Eternallord66 Mar 31 '20 at 1:00
2
\$\begingroup\$

The rules you just quoted say yes, so barring a DM decision otherwise, a beholder can effectively antimagic itself at will. Granted antimagic only suppresses magical effects, it does not remove them. So while the beholder can "turn off" your blindness/deafness, it will have to shut down any spellcasting or other magic of its own in order to do so, and in order to resume casting spells it would have to let your blindness spell come back into effect in order to do so.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ When exactly does a Beholder get to choose to do this? It doesn't ever choose the point of origin for the antimagic cone; it always originates from the central eye. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Mar 27 '20 at 17:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mark I'm not sure that's correct. Just because the eye creates it doesn't mean the central eye is the point of origin (and where even is the central eye anyway?) Regardless of that though, a creature can opt to include the point of origin in the spell's effect so wouldn't that simply make the Beholder included in the area? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Mar 27 '20 at 17:07
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Normally, yes, when casting a spell, a creature can opt to include the point of origin in the effect. But this isn't a spell. It never gets cast. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Mar 27 '20 at 17:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mark That seems a rather absurd conclusion to say that all the rules on areas of effects (technically in the Spellcasting chapter) apply only and exclusively to spells and not any of the other many many area effects \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Mar 27 '20 at 17:59
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm not saying it doesn't behave like an area of effect in other ways, just that casting a spell provides a procedure for choosing the point of origin, which can be included the area of effect or not. The Beholder doesn't do that procedure; it just gets to turn the field on or off and rotate it. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Mar 27 '20 at 18:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.