1
\$\begingroup\$

In D&D 5e, basically all PCs fit in on a 5 foot square. I want to figure out how much that 5 foot square can hold at end of turn by rules as written.

My first estimation is 3 people. Using the rule that allows creatures to use other creatures that are a size category bigger then them as a mount, allows for the situation: A centaur barbarian counts as large for carrying and pushing so with some plate armored fighter on top, duel wielding lances, a half-ling sits on the fighters shoulders, gets us to three.

That is 3, but can we get more?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Are you asking about at the end of a turn or in mid-turn? Or is this purely theoretical as you can't end your turn by choice in someone else's space? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Mar 30 at 14:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch I was thinking end-of-turn. I will at that to the question. \$\endgroup\$ – Overthinks Mar 30 at 14:27
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Overthinks: I'm not sure your initial assumption holds that just because a centaur counts as large for carrying and pushing means it can also be a mount for a medium creature. The centaur is still medium size so this doesn't negate the 'mount must be a size category larger" rule. \$\endgroup\$ – PJRZ Mar 30 at 14:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ I edited your title for clarity and to add the part about being in battle specifically. Does that align with what you are asking? \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Mar 30 at 15:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ Would you like answers to assume a particular answer to this question - If a creature's turn starts in the same space as another creature, is it required to leave that space before its turn ends? Additionally, you technically say a 5-foot square but I assume you mean a 5-foot cube? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Mar 30 at 15:14

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.