4
\$\begingroup\$

On the back of What happens when a Storm sorcerer uses Tempestuous Magic to fly 10 feet straight up? if a Storm Sorcerer uses Tempestuous Magic to move vertically 10' and then casts Levitate on themselves for a vertical 20' would they then remain 30' off the ground?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you will levitate

Tempestuous Magic (XGtE, 52) states (my emphasis):

Starting at 1st level, you can use a bonus action on your turn to cause whirling gusts of elemental air to briefly surround you, immediately before or after you cast a spell of 1st level or higher.

In the case you describe, you are triggering the whirling gusts immediately before you cast levitate (PHB, 255). This will allow you to rise up 10' and then have the spell increase your height by up to 20'.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A willing creature doesn't have to make a saving throw against levitate does it? \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Mar 30 at 14:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Someone_Evil I"m not actually sure. The line does read "An unwilling creature that succeeds on a Constitution saving throw is unaffected." Which implies that a willing creature can be willing, but it doesn't actually say it. However, it's loose enough that I think I can remove that bit about failure. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Mar 30 at 14:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Side note: technically, you can use the 10' fly after you Levitate as well. \$\endgroup\$ – RevenantBacon Mar 30 at 16:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.