What happens if a caster casts Feign Death on himself and another caster (that believes that the first caster is really dead) try to cast a resurrection spell? Does the second caster understand that the first one is not really dead?

  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Does this answer your question? What happens when a caster targets an object that looks like a creature with a spell that targets only creatures? \$\endgroup\$
    – lucasvw
    Commented Apr 3, 2020 at 20:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ Please note that we do not approve of piracy, I changed the link accordingly. \$\endgroup\$
    – Akixkisu
    Commented Apr 3, 2020 at 21:38
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: Does a wand lose a charge if it attempts to target an invalid target? \$\endgroup\$
    – GcL
    Commented Apr 3, 2020 at 21:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Why the dupe? It seems like that asks the opposite. This is a spell targeting an object (a corpse) being cast on a creature. \$\endgroup\$
    – Szega
    Commented Apr 4, 2020 at 8:25
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Well, there is no harm in the closure. I just thought that questions are not dupes of each other because the answer is the same. Obviously there is wiggle room, but I always asked myself "Could I think that the answers are diferent, if I hadn't read the exact paragraph where the answer is?" as a test. Is there a consensus on how to handle this? (meta post maybe?) \$\endgroup\$
    – Szega
    Commented Apr 4, 2020 at 14:53

1 Answer 1


Nothing happens, the spell slot is expended, and the caster perceives that nothing was done to the target.

The second caster would see that the target was unaffected, but would not immediately know why.

Xanathar's Guide to Everything Offers Guidance on Invalid Spell Targets

XGtE p.86 :

If you cast a spell on someone or something that can't be affected by the spell, nothing happens to that target, but if you used a spell s lot to cast the spell, the s lot is still expended

Since resurrection does not require a saving throw, the caster just knows the spell did nothing:

Otherwise, you perceive that the spell did nothing to the target.

The guidance on spells requires saving throws is informative about not giving away the invalid nature of the target.

... the invalid target appears to have succeeded on its saving throw, even though it did not attempt one (giving no hint that the creature is in fact an invalid target).


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .