22
\$\begingroup\$

In my game, in which I play a wizard, I have met an NPC wizard who is willing to let me learn Leomund's Secret Chest from her spellbook. This got me wondering what would happen if I learned the spell and cast it on the same large chest that she had already cast it on (using my own separate tiny replica). Would this enable us to effectively teleport objects back and forth by alternately summoning the chest and placing things in it, then letting the other person summon it and remove the items? Or would something else happen? How would the chest work if 2 different wizards cast Secret Chest on it?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ My first thought is "jinx- double jinx!" But that might just because I have small children. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Apr 12 at 20:27
19
\$\begingroup\$

The most "potent" effect prevalis

Under the rules for Combining Magical Effects, two effects with the same name don't stack. QED.

The only tricky part is the DM has to decide which is the most "potent". If one caster used a higher-level spell slot, that would be the most potent.; otherwise, the "most recent effect applies".

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd like to point out that in this case the chest is used as a material component rather than receiving an effect like bless. As such it does not become a magical chest but is rather 'consumed' by the spell whilst allowing the user to summon a chest from the ethereal plane. \$\endgroup\$ – Maiko Chikyu Apr 12 at 22:35
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @MaikoChikyu the chest is both a material component and a target. \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Apr 12 at 22:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This seems sensible, although the Combining Magical Effects rule refers to effects with overlapping durations, whereas secret chest has "instantaneous" duration. Does the rule still apply? \$\endgroup\$ – MikeQ Apr 13 at 1:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MikeQ The spell's text also refers to the effect ending after 60 days. So I think it's still effects with the same name and a duration, even if it doesn't match the duration of the spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan C. Thompson Apr 13 at 1:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MaikoChikyu Material components are generally not consumed at all. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Apr 13 at 1:16
1
\$\begingroup\$

In principle, this would allow both of them to summon the chest.

Leomund's secret chest doesn't restrict the chest from being used as the component for multiple castings of the spell. You'd just need to summon it back so the other wizard can cast the spell.

The ability to summon the chest only works "while the chest is on the Ethereal Plane", so if you speak the password and the chest doesn't appear, probably the other guy is using it.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.