10
\$\begingroup\$

Dragon breath weapons used to be simple: 3 uses per day. They magically recharged at either midnight or dawn, depending on your DM.

As I read through the dragon section, I see new (to me) info on Lair and Legendary actions, environmental effects, and more. Those all seem pretty straight forward. However, when I get to the actual stat blocks for dragons (for a Black Dragon), I see stuff like:

Acid Breath (Recharge 5–6).

Did I miss where this was explained? What exactly does this 5-6 mean?

How/when does an ability like a dragon's breath weapon recharge, if it's listed as "Recharge 5–6"?

\$\endgroup\$
1
27
\$\begingroup\$

This is explained under "Limited Usage" on page 11 of the Monster Manual or here in the basic rules on D&D Beyond:

Recharge X–Y. [...] At the start of each of the monster's turns, roll a d6. If the roll is one of the numbers in the recharge notation, the monster regains the use of the special ability. The ability also recharges when the monster finishes a short or long rest. [...]

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ That's very straight forward! I hadn't gotten to reading the entire MM yet, thank you so much!! \$\endgroup\$
    – aaron9eee
    Apr 22 '20 at 7:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.