9
\$\begingroup\$

So I know we are going to some kind of underwater place next session. I was wondering if the bard could use Lesser Restoration to "fix" the drowning "condition". That is, if it counts as one.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ What rules are you using for drowning? Are you using the suffocating rules? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Apr 22 at 13:33
14
\$\begingroup\$

No, drowning isn't a condition

Conditions, as a mechanical thing, are only those listed in Appendix A: Conditions of the Player's Handbook or Basic Rules. Drowning is not a condition listed there. Instead, death due to lack of air is described by the rules for suffocation, which does not specifically require being underwater, just being unable to breathe, and doesn't impose any conditions - you simply drop straight to dying if you hold your breath too long.

Additionally, even if drowning was a condition that was imposed by suffocating underwater, lesser restoration would not be able to fix it, since it states that:

You touch a creature and can end either one disease or one condition afflicting it. The condition can be blinded, deafened, paralyzed, or poisoned.

Drowning is not in the list of conditions that lesser restoration can end.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

Lesser restoration can't cure drowning

You can see the full list of conditions, in the basic rules. Drowning is not included in this list and thus is not a condition.

However, even if drowning was a condition, lesser restoration still wouldn't help you. It does not heal all conditions, just a specific subset of conditions:

You touch a creature and can end either one disease or one condition afflicting it. The condition can be blinded, deafened, paralyzed, or poisoned.

If you need a magical solution for drowning then the spell water breathing is one of the games more efficient solutions (affects 10 people for a whole day).

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Even if it could, it still wouldn't help you to breath underwater. The same way Lesser Restoration can't make you see in darkness, despite "a creature in a heavily obscured area effectively suffers from the blinded condition" and blinded condition can be cured by Lesser Restoration. \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Apr 22 at 9:27
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor: I suppose a rules lawyer could argue that Lesser Restoration technically can cure the blinded condition resulting from being in darkness — but the condition then gets immediately re-imposed, since it's still dark. But that'd be just silly. :P \$\endgroup\$ – Ilmari Karonen Apr 22 at 10:01
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @IlmariKaronen the same with breathing underwater, I guess \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Apr 22 at 10:05
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor I entirely agree, there's a number of levels on which this doesn't work. I could add that in, but sometimes the simplest answer's the best answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Tiggerous Apr 22 at 11:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.