I know that you use your spellcasting modifier from the class you gained the spell from.

However, for something like Tempest Domain cleric gaining the use of thunderwave from their subclass (automatically prepared as a domain spell), and as a multiclass with sorcerer who can also use thunderwave normally (if they want to learn the spell), can I use my Charisma instead of Wisdom as my spellcasting modifier?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: "Can a multiclass character use either of its spellcasting modifiers for spells?" \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 24, 2020 at 3:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ I assume that in this scenario, you haven't actually learned the spell as a sorcerer, and only have it prepared as a Tempest cleric (automatically, since it's a domain spell)? So, in essence, you're asking "As a multiclass spellcaster, if I have a spell known/prepared from class A but the spell is also on class B's list, can I use spellcasting ability B to cast it?" I've also edited out your secondary question about what spellcasting focus you can use; if you want to ask that, you should do so as a separate question. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Apr 25, 2020 at 1:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also: Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Apr 25, 2020 at 1:38

1 Answer 1



You cast each spell from the class that it comes from. It doesn't matter that the spell is on more than one of your classes spell lists. The rule for this is on p164 in the Player's Handbook relating to multiclassing under Spells Known and Prepared.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Why I don't understand the downvote to this as I believe this is correct, it would be helpful to include the full ruling in your answer, rather than just cite it. \$\endgroup\$
    – RallozarX
    Commented Apr 24, 2020 at 5:47
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ If what you quote is freely and legally available text such as what's found here I can't see why somebody would downvote it \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 24, 2020 at 7:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That sounds very frustrating. The best suggestion I have is to try to quote only smallish snippets of rules, like a couple of sentences at a time. But I've quoted from even non-free sources and still been ok, so I can only assume it's how much you quote that might have been what others have complained about. \$\endgroup\$
    – NathanS
    Commented Apr 24, 2020 at 8:08
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I looked at all of your answers; 7 had downvotes, only 1 of which quoted the text, and I don't believe the downvotes were as a result of that. Trust me when I say that in almost every case, as long as your answer isn't just a quote from the text, it is better to cite relevant text from the source. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 24, 2020 at 15:17
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth further clarifying that it would be possible to cast a given spell using either class's modifier if that spell is concurrently known and prepared by both classes. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rykara
    Commented Apr 24, 2020 at 17:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .