10
\$\begingroup\$

Someone has been telling me that I cannot cast eldritch blast twice a turn, because by some rule you are only able to cast one spell and one cantrip a turn, regardless of casting time. I trust his judgment, but I want to confirm.

I have always been familiar with the stuff you get during combat: One action, one bonus action, and one reaction. It doesn't make sense that I can't use an action to cast eldritch blast, then use Quickened Spell to make the casting time a bonus action, and then use eldritch blast again.

Can you cast eldritch blast twice in the same turn using the sorcerer's Quickened Spell Metamagic option?

\$\endgroup\$
28
\$\begingroup\$

Two eldritch blasts is fine.

Step 1: Cast eldritch blast using Quickened Spell to make its casting time a bonus action. You can do this.

Step 2: Flip to PHB p. 203's "Casting Time" section and review the "Bonus Action" subsection:

You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

Step 3: Validate continuing usage of eldritch blast. Is it a cantrip? Yup. Is its casting time 1 action? Yup. ('Cause you're not quickening this one.)

Step 4: Fire away.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.