12
\$\begingroup\$

A possibly related Q&A: Does halfling luck apply to death saving throws?


The description of the Bane spell reads (emphasis mine):

Whenever a target [...] makes an attack roll or saving throw before the spell ends, the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw.

The description of the bless spell reads similarly.

Based on this text, and the linked question, am I right to assume that these spells apply to death saving throws?

\$\endgroup\$
2
22
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, death saving throws are saving throws

Death saving throws are a type of saving throws (right there in the name), so bane and bless can affect them. The spells also don't end because the target is at 0 hit points. The only exception is if you are the one casting the spell, because the falling unconscious that happens before making death saves would break your concentration.


† For completeness: Death saving throws are defined on page 197 of the PHB, which opens:

Whenever you start your turn with 0 hit points, you must make a special saving throw, called a death saving throw, [...]

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.