11
\$\begingroup\$

Say I trigger the bonus-action attack granted by the first benefit of the Great Weapon Master feat (PHB, p. 167), either by getting a crit or a killing blow. Can I then apply GWM's second benefit (-5 to attack roll, +10 to damage roll) to that bonus-action attack?

As a barbarian at level 5 (Extra Attack) , this would mean that I could use this feature a total of 3 times in a turn — that's some heavy damage.

\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can take -5 to hit/+10 damage on the bonus-action attack.

The Great Weapon Master feat (PHB, p. 167) reads:

[...] you can make one melee weapon attack as a bonus action.

and

Before you make a melee attack with a heavy weapon that you are proficient with, [...]

So whenever you make a melee attack (with a heavy weapon that you are proficient in), including one provided by the feat, you can take the - 5 to hit for the +10 damage. This can be done any number of times - so yes, your barbarian could do it on three attacks (attack, extra attack, bonus-action attack) in a turn.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.