Is casting a spell with a casting time longer than 1 action considered “concentrating” on it, for the purpose of keeping concentration on a different spell already cast?

Ex.: Flaming sphere on the field, next round starting to cast conjure minor elemental (1min).
Does the flaming sphere puff at the start of the minute or at the end, when the spell slot is spent and the spell’s effect takes place?

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. What RPG and edition are you asking about? Please indicate this by editing the corresponding tag (e.g. [dnd-5e]) into your post. Once you do that, your post can be reapproved and answered (or we can direct you to where your question has already been answered). \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    May 10, 2020 at 10:07


Browse other questions tagged .