3
\$\begingroup\$

On the newest UA Subclass Revisited, the Wizard gains the ability to change the damage type of spells they cast for the damage type of other spells they have in their book.

Is this applicable to Cantrips?

\$\endgroup\$
0
8
\$\begingroup\$

No

The ability says:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with the damage type of another spell in your spellbook, as your spellbook magically alters the spell’s formula for this casting.

Since cantrips do not require a spell slot they are not affected by this ability

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It may be worth noting that they can't even change the damage type of a 1st level or higher spell to a damage type of one of their cantrips. This is because cantrips are not in their spellbook. "Your spellbook is the repository of the wizard spells you know, except your cantrips, which are fixed in your mind." \$\endgroup\$
    – Medix2
    May 13 '20 at 19:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ does having Chromatic orb in your spellbook means that you add acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder damage types available? \$\endgroup\$ May 13 '20 at 20:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ That sounds like a separate question, though I personally would rule that it does, though I could see an argument made over the word choice of "the damage type" \$\endgroup\$
    – Medix2
    May 13 '20 at 21:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.