5
\$\begingroup\$

What is my rogue's Stealth modifier?

Here's my attempt to calculate it:

  • My Dexterity modifier is +4.
  • I have proficiency in Stealth and Dex saving throws, so I think that’s another +4 (+2 and +2).
  • Then I have Expertise; I’m not sure whether it will double my proficiency in Stealth to make my total Stealth bonus a +10, or double both my saving throw proficiency and my Stealth proficiency to make my total Stealth bonus a +12.
\$\endgroup\$
3
29
\$\begingroup\$

Your total Stealth mod is +8.

Your mistake here is that you are adding your proficiency with Dexterity saving throws to your total. This is incorrect. Saving throws are a special kind of die roll, separate from the (related) ability check and attack roll. Saving throws are generally reactionary; the DM will ask you to make one in response to certain kinds of threats. Skills are used proactively, that is, generally the DM will call for a ability check when you are trying to accomplish something.

Stealth is a skill. Thus, to calculate the corresponding modifier for Stealth checks, you will apply the related ability modifier (for Stealth, the corresponding ability is Dexterity; your Dex mod is +4, as you stated) and your proficiency bonus (if you are proficient; at level 1, this is +2). Since you chose Stealth as one of the skills you have Expertise in, this last number is doubled.

Thus, when you make a Stealth check, you roll a d20 and add:
+4 (Dex) + [+2 (Proficient) * 2 (Expertise)]
for a total of +8.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It may be worth mentioning that (afaik) you never combine the proficiency bonus from 2 different sources on a roll. \$\endgroup\$
    – fabian
    May 17 '20 at 7:11
3
\$\begingroup\$

You did not state your level, so I will work with lvl 1-4.

When you make a Stealth attempt, roll d20, add proficiency (+2)and add DEX modifier (+4). Then Expertise allows you to add your proficiency again. This adds up to a total of +8 to your roll.

Any bonus to Saving Throws does not apply.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .