3
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the shocking grasp cantrip says:

Make a melee spell attack against the target. You have advantage on the attack roll if the target is wearing armor made of metal. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 lightning damage, and it can’t take reactions until the start of its next turn.

How much damage do I deal with shocking grasp? Would it do 1d8 (+ spellcasting modifier) damage? Or would it do 1d6 + (attack modifier) in addition to the 1d8 roll?

I am assuming that, as it's a cantrip, it's just the 1d8 lightning damage, but I want to check because it's unclear to me.

\$\endgroup\$
20
\$\begingroup\$

It's just 1d8 lightning damage, without any modifier

Though a "melee spell attack" is still a melee attack, it never assumes you make a melee attack with your weapon. Moreover, since the spell has a somatic component, you need at least one free hand to perform it.

You don't add your weapon damage to it — it deals as much damage as its description says, no less, no more. See also: Does a Melee spell attack count as a Weapon attack?

There are spells that include a weapon attack as part of the casting of the spell, such as the booming blade or green-flame blade cantrips (SCAG, p. 142-143). But if that's the case, its description always says this explicitly:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon

Another example is the cleric's inflict wounds as a point of comparison. It does not involve a weapon attack:

Make a melee spell attack against a creature you can reach. On a hit, the target takes 3d10 necrotic damage

(thanks @KorvinStarmast for this suggestion)

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.