5
\$\begingroup\$

Does he fall prone or is he simply placed in an adjacent square?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

The rider falls prone in an adjacent square

From the DMG and the Rules Compendium[ddi]

Falling Prone: If the mount falls prone, the rider is dismounted and falls prone in an unoccupied space of the rider’s choice adjacent to the now-prone mount. However, if the mount is flying when it is knocked prone, it instead falls. The rider isn’t dismounted unless the mount lands and falls prone itself. A rider who is knocked prone can immediately make a saving throw. On a roll of 9 or lower, the rider is dismounted and falls prone in an unoccupied space of the rider’s choice adjacent to the mount. On a roll of 10 or higher, the rider is neither dismounted nor knocked prone. A rider who voluntarily drops prone falls prone in an unoccupied space of the rider’s choice adjacent to the mount.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Wait, no damage? \$\endgroup\$ – Vorac Sep 26 '12 at 14:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ No damage is called for under the rules as written (other than that required by the falling distance, in the case of a flying mount.) \$\endgroup\$ – F. Randall Farmer Sep 27 '12 at 0:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ Wasn't sure if the mount dying counted as falling prone. Thanks for the clarification! \$\endgroup\$ – Ravn Sep 30 '12 at 18:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.