My Druid uses two clubs. Can I have the shillelagh cantrip active on both clubs at once?


1 Answer 1


No, shillelagh can only be active on one weapon at a time.

The shillelagh spell description says:

The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's power. [...] The spell ends if you cast it again or if you let go of the weapon. (emphasis mine)

It says the wood of a club or quarterstaff, which is only one. At the end of the spell description, it says this spell ends if you cast it again. So sadly, no you can’t dual-wield 1d8+Wis weapons at 1st level with no feats.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Although not mentioned as a possibility, would it be worthwhile to discuss if the Sorcerer's Twinned metamagic accomplishes this? \$\endgroup\$
    – RallozarX
    May 20, 2020 at 0:47
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ @RallozarX Unfortunately it does not. Twinned Spell Metamagic only works on spells that target "one creature" \$\endgroup\$ May 20, 2020 at 0:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ If your DM wants to achieve this narratively they could house-rule to let you snap a quaterstaff in half after casting shillelagh – as the somatic component of the spell, as an interaction with an object, or over the head of an enemy as your attack on the first round – to make two (improvised) clubs you are still holding, and repair it afterwards with mending. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 22, 2023 at 13:48

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .